New Chess King

 Alexander Shabalov (courtesy of monroi.com)

Riga-born Alexander Shabalov, the anchor of my fantasy chess team and a wild tactician at the chessboard, won the 2007 U.S. Championship yesterday with a score of seven wins and nine draws.  Overall, though, my fantasy team had a rather mediocre performance, tying for 117th through 159th, out of 387 places. 

I will take this as a warning that I should stick to my day job as a writer and stay away from handicaping chess players on sports betting sites. 

3 Responses to “New Chess King”

  1. Howard Goldowsky Says:

    Goichberg’s tie floating in the background of this picture frames Shaba’s head like a colorful scarf. Quickly glancing at this pic for the first time, I though Shaba was an old Russian lady from Fiddler on the Roof.

    I think my fantasy team did even worse…I lost track when I flirted with last place after the fourth round.

  2. paulhoffman Says:

    Yes, when I first glanced at the photo, I was afraid Shaba was switching chess federations.

  3. jena Says:

    great post

    play chess online at chess

Leave a Reply

