Fleischgeist

meatpaperbutcher.jpg

As a veteran of the magazine industry, I enjoy looking at premier issues of new titles. The other day, at my favorite kitchen store, I came across Meatpaper, an arty magazine put out by two recovered vegetarians. The photographs are striking (The one above is from an article called “They’ve Got Chops” about three women who run an artisanal butcher shop in San Francisco.) Meatpaper aims to capture what its founders call Fleischgeist, “the growing cultural trend of meat consciousness, a new curiosity about not just what’s inside that hotdog, but how it got there, and what it means to be eating it.”

I thought the magazine might inspire my fleish-adverse eight-year-old to give meat another chance, but he didn’t find the machete-wielding gals as beguiling as I did.

3 Responses to “Fleischgeist”

  1. Michael Says:

    Why would you want to discourage your son from vegetarianism? After reading King’s Gambit, I can’t picture you as the type of dad to discourage experimentation with different outlooks on life.

  2. paulhoffman Says:

    I am proud that he is a vegetarian for moral reasons. But until very recently he was really a starchetarian (bread and pasta). He was a vegetarian who didn’t eat vegetables. I was concerned that he wasn’t getting enough protein.

  3. Michael Says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I went through that phase when I first became a vegetarian (for ecological reasons). I’m sure my weight and my cholesterol both skyrocketed. Then I made friends with a healthier and less convenient diet. At the age of eight, it’s probably just a phase your son is going through, but good for you that you have a son who is already starting to lose his egocentrism! May he go through many phases which open his mind. In the mean time, try the fake hotdogs, corndogs, chicken patties, and whatnot. I know, I know, they don’t taste exactly like the real thing, but my four year old likes them. (No, he’s not a vegetarian, but close!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

